top of page
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Neck Deep "All Distortions Are Intentional" ALBUM REVIEW


Neck Deep has released their highly anticipate forthcoming album All Distortions Are intentional, which dropped July 24th via Hopeless Records.

The band took a giant leap forward in creativity on this conceptual record surpassing their role as just another pop-punk band.

For ADAI, the UK quintet enlisted the talents of Grammy-nominated A-list producer Matt Squire (Panic! At The Disco, Ariana Grande, One Direction), recording in Wales at the legendary Monnow Valley Studio, which has been a recording home for artists like Oasis, Queen, Led Zeppelin, Joss Stone and more. Squire and Neck Deep tucked themselves away at the world-famous residential studio, located in the gorgeous but remote Wye Valley in the heart of the band's native Wales. The decision to create the album 'at home' was an important one; on the eve of what's certain to be Neck Deep's greatest exposure to the world yet, it's a grateful and decisive acknowledgment of where they've come from, both literally and figuratively.

I'm a firm believer that the opening track to every record sets the mood and tone for the entire album, which Neck Deep does perfectly introducing us to the world of "Sonderland", the magnificent world created by the band for this pop-punk masterpiece. Sonderland almost echoes the life of the current COVID-19 world where we are all left to make the best of what is given to us. With lyrics like "What strange times that we live in, will slowly eat you alive if you don't fit in" are haunting reminders of what a world may become if things don't get better.

Each song on ADAI perfectly blend into each other as if scenes to a movie are unfolding. Following single tracks "Fall" and "Lowlife" introduce us to characters Jett and Alice who together take us down their story of love, loss, and dispair. Fret not to those wondering if this is an entirely "new sounding" Neck Deep, with songs like "Pushing Daisies" and "I Revolve (Around You)" giving us that throwback ND sound circa 2017 The Peace and the Panic.

Sonically all 12 tracks on All Distortions Are Intentional take the best qualities of every previous Neck Deep album and put them on steroids with a new element of surprise. Songs like "Empty House", "Telling Stories" and "When You Know" start off slow, but either build up to these amazing anthems that groove throughout or take a left turn like a bat-out-of-hell and throw you for a loop.

This has been one of most anticipated albums of all year, and it did not disappoint in the least. The band really set the bar high on this record and delivered with the re-listen value in the triple digits and the storyline/concept on par with The Black Parade and American Idiot. But hey, don't take my word for it, listen to it yourself!

You can check out the track listing for All Distortions Are Intentional as well as Neck Deep's latest single SICK JOKE below!



1.Sonderland 2. Fall 3. Lowlife 4. Telling Stories 5. When You Know 6. Quarry 7. Sick Joke 8. What Took You So Long? 9. Empty House10. Little Dove 11. I Revolve (Around You) 12. Pushing Daisies


You can check out more more info on NECK DEEP in the links below:




CHECK OUT NECK DEEP the rest of the bands I've featured here:

tppd spotify

The Pop-Punk Dad features bands from all around the globe. Email me awesome bands at:


bottom of page