top of page
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

Seaway drops new single "Wild Things".


Canadian pop-punk band Seaway have recently premiered another single, "Wild Things," taken from the forthcoming new album Big Vibe which is due out October 16th via Pure Noise Records.

"Going into writing Wild Things we knew that this song would lean more heavily on the indie pop influences," says Ryan Locke. "It came together a bit later in the process, I think with a song like this it had to breathe a bit so we could figure out where it was going to go."

Big Vibe is an album that very much lives up to its name. While it's as much of a summer record as Seaway has ever made, it unashamedly wears its older, more diverse influences on its sleeves. Those things have always been there, but they are definitely more salient than ever before, whether that's the hyperactive, uplifting bombast of opener "Brain In A Jar" or the 80s-tinged feel-good sing-along chorus of the title track that follows it. That's not to say all of these songs teem with positivity - despite its upbeat tune, "Still Blue" teems with a pessimistic resignation, "Pathetic" the musical incarnation of self-recrimination and self-loathing, and final track "Sick Puppy" is quite possibly the most depressing and miserable song the band has ever written.

All of them are accomplished, earnest, heartfelt rock songs driven by sincere emotion and passion, but for both Locke and Eichinger, it's "Mrs. David" - and it's noticeable Tom Petty influence - in particular that not only sums up Big Vibe but also the band's overall shift in musical direction and the future of the band. While much of that was down to this being one of the most relaxed recording processes the band has experienced, that song in particular really only came about because of the coronavirus pandemic.

"We were pretty much done in the studio," says Eichinger, "and then COVID-19 hit, so we kept writing and did a couple more songs, one of which was Mrs. David. And it's one of the best songs we've ever written. We just did it and it felt perfect. And without that song I think the record would be completely different. It brings the whole thing together."

You can check out WILD THINGS below!


Big Vibe Tracklisting:

1. Brain In a Jar

2. Big Vibe

3. Mrs. David

4. Still Blue

5. Wild Things

6. Pathetic

7. Sweet Sugar

8. Peach

9. If You Let Me

10. Wicked

11. Sick Puppy



You can check out more more info on SEAWAY in the links below:



CHECK OUT SEAWAY the rest of the bands I've featured here:

tppd spotify

The Pop-Punk Dad features bands from all around the globe. Email me awesome bands at:


bottom of page